RSS

Daily Archives: December 31, 2013

Dear 2013,

You’ve been a year of ups and downs, high ups, and low downs. Everything was so extreme this year – it was either good or bad. On the last day of 2013, I am sitting here, fervently typing (after not typing so much for almost 3 weeks or so?); reflecting on the past year, while looking forward to the new year.

I barely remember a lot of the details from the earlier half of the year though – I was going through my second semester in NUS, busy like a bee with all my MUN/O week/Rag/etc. So many things changed in the course of this year, in almost all aspects of my life. 2013 has been nothing short of crazy.

In retrospect now, I’ve really learnt a lot from this year alone. I’ve learnt that the duration of the relationship is no measure to affections and feelings for a person. I really don’t miss you any more now. I don’t even feel the slightest regret because you weren’t worth it. You weren’t worth all the tears shed, all the time, effort, and everything, that I gave to this relationship. Things happened, and everything just went downhill from there. Even on Rag Day, you didn’t even care at all, you didn’t even bother asking about it, wishing me luck, or even just cheering me on. But y’know what? Like you said, it’s over. I don’t miss you any more. I miss having someone around all the time, someone I can perpetually talk to, but its not you. You weren’t the right person, because I couldn’t tell you everything that was happening in my life. I couldn’t tell you the stuff that troubled me because you’d only judge me. Over.

 So many things happened in this year alone, changing so many things at one go. I’ve started taking my studies even more seriously than before (even though that still led to a drop in my GPA, ARGH). In Y2S2 I actually finished reading like 95% of the set readings (5% takes up one set of 180pg reading, amongst other super lengthy ones). This semester also saw me switch from disliking academic texts to actually liking them, which is quite surprising given how much I perpetually complain about having to read them.

This year, I was stretched thin, after having too many commitments (as usual), and I actually foresee myself having the same problem come 2014 (Chingay, SMUN, Fund raising with TTSH), but I’m thankful this time round the dates are a lot more spread out so I have time to prepare and take a good break too. Of course, I’ve learnt a lot, had a lot of fun, and everything. But it is something I wouldn’t want to repeat, ever again. WorldMUN too, on top of all my other “MUN commitments”, although they are technically not mine. But this year, I’ve learn what it feels like too, the shitty feeling of not being able to commit fully to any particular event – it made me feel as if I didn’t fit in anywhere; neither here nor there. Despite that, I’ve made countless of new friends, either course mates or hall mates, and either side have been equally supportive.

2013 is also the year where I gained new closer friends, but in the process, probably lost some too. I’m super thankful for the friends that I have by my side, rain or shine. I probably can’t ever thank them enough for being a part of my life in this trying year. 2013 ends, and I’m glad to have spent time with friends every other day this week. My girls, my ex-hubbers, DISEC ’11, Jon, Desiree, Kenneth, and Bernard! Of course, not forgetting my Chingay comm who has been working all the time!

2013, you’ve been a great run, but it’s time to say goodbye. But this goodbye brings a new hello. A “Hello, 2014”.

Hello.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2013 in Uncategorized